Help I think one of my young hens has broke her leg

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Sadiew, Jun 26, 2011.

1. Sadiew

Sadiew Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2011
    Spain
    One of my young hens was chased out of coop and slipped down the ramp and I think she may have broken her leg she is approx 16 weeks old, she is hobbling around and if she tries to put weight on it she is falling over to the side what can I do, I am still fairly new to keeping Chickens and ducks help please, here vets are not very sympathetic to hens etc they would just go to local farmer and I do not want to do that any ideas what I can do?

Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  2. AKsmama

AKsmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010
    South Carolina
    I had a pullet with a fractured leg back in October. We isolated her in a large dog kennel and kept her there for about 4 weeks while it healed. It healed on its own, and she is in the coop at this very moment with two pipping eggs underneath her. But, it really depends on how bad the break is. You may need to splint it. For sure I would get her isolated if I were you- the other chickens are going to start picking on her.

You may want to ask a mod to move this post to the "Emergencies and Injuries" section of the forum. You'll probably get more replies faster there.

3. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    There is a link on my signature that may help. It has a ton of info on foot/leg injuries with pics. Good luck. [​IMG]

4. Aria

Aria Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    We had one chick that was just using one leg and dragging the other. We taped both legs together and the strong leg helped with the week one. She was very slow but was always in a different place when we saw her so she did get around.