Help ID --- I think Rhode Island Red

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sab, Jun 9, 2011.

1. sab

sab Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 28, 2010
    Ripley, WV
    My Coop
    Please tell me this is not a Roo.... I have 2 of these. Picked them up on April 18 - they were probably 3 days old. So that makes them like 6 weeks old... or 7 maybe. I did not order Rhode Island Reds. And I certainly didn't order Roos. I don't mind if they are RIRs but Roos.... that's a different story.
    Here are several shots. To me they are hens but for that red wobbly business on their faces. Me hopes you folks tell me that RIRs have large combs....

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thanks!

Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  2. M.sue

M.sue Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2011
    Michigan
    I'm no expert so I can't tell from the picks. If they are 7-8 wks. old as you say then.....The Roos should start voices themselves themselves right about this age. At least mine did. You could also try the hat drop trick. That is put them in a small enclosed room like the bathroom or let them mingle in your kitchen and explore for a bit. Then take a hat and drop it into the middle of the flock. The hens should startle & scatter while the Roos should stand to attention and act on guard. I was ready to try this trick but mine began trying to crow the following morning. Good Luck......I love Roosters!!

3. sab

sab Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 28, 2010
    Ripley, WV
    My Coop