1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

help id these chicks please!!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Patch&Phoebe, Jun 30, 2007.

1. Patch&Phoebe

Patch&Phoebe Out Of The Brooder

Jun 25, 2007
    Kensington, CA
    Any ideas as to breed / sex? Current Craigslist posting - someone bought for "fun" now doesn't want them, they are getting too big... They look "familiar" to me, possibly Araucana's and RIR, but I'm a novice at this... THANKS!!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Looks like a Frizzle of some type in the middle there. That and Easter Eggers.

3. Patch&Phoebe

Patch&Phoebe Out Of The Brooder

Jun 25, 2007
    Kensington, CA
    Cynthia thanks! Care to guess at the gender? I don't need anymore "crowing hens"...!! I feel bad for the babies though - looks like they've been in a cardboard box eating who knows what, she said she bought them in May.

4. DementedHam

DementedHam Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2007
    Southern California
    the pictures are a bit too pixelized to tell but for the middle one i agree with you, i think it's a RIR. i would say all 3 are pullets because for their size the comb is too small to be a rooster's comb for any of them.

5. chickenwoods

chickenwoods Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2007
    **||OKLAHOMA||**
    I always thought those birds on the outer sides were Brown leghorns??? I have a couple of those that look just like that,the store told me they were brown leghorns??
    A brown/black neck,,,orangish,brownish breast, and black body?

6. chicks rule

chicks rule Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2007
    SW MO