Help identifying Breed

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by FrzzlsnFthrs, Feb 26, 2017.

1. FrzzlsnFthrs

FrzzlsnFthrs New Egg

Feb 26, 2017
    Southern Illinois
    Hi! I am new to BYC, and I am needing help identifying the breed of chickens that was sent to me by Ideal when I ordered Bantam Cochins back in the fall. These were the extras to keep them warm. I am pretty sure they all were cockerels except for 1 that may be a pullet. They are about 15 weeks old now, but I cannot keep all the boys....but I have no idea what to tell someone that they are. I honestly don't think they are Rhode Island Reds. They seem different. But, they are all red with yellow legs. Thanks in advance! : )

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. elizabethjg

elizabethjg Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2016
    Texas
    They are New Hampshire reds.

3. FrzzlsnFthrs

FrzzlsnFthrs New Egg

Feb 26, 2017
    Southern Illinois
    Thank you so much! I do think you are correct. I googled them, and you are right. They seem much more like a New Hampshire than a Rhode Island. I'm still not sure how many are going to be hens, and how many will be roosters. I feel like I should be able to tell by now....I guess time will tell. Thanks again!

4. Cel45

Cel45 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2015
    Houston, Tx
    Production Reds, I have two from Ideal.

5. FrzzlsnFthrs

FrzzlsnFthrs New Egg

Feb 26, 2017
    Southern Illinois
    Maybe, but I have a Production Red, and they really don't seem to be the same. I could be wrong though. Thanks for your input though. I really appreciate it! : )

6. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Probably Production Reds. Production Reds can vary in appearance depending on their source; basically, they're red birds, often with Rhode Island Red and New Hampshire in their background, that are generally great brown egg layers.

7. FrzzlsnFthrs

FrzzlsnFthrs New Egg

Feb 26, 2017
    Southern Illinois