Help I'm new to this!!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by DarleneE, Feb 28, 2014.

1. DarleneE

DarleneE Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Riverview, Fla
    Hi everyone! I have two hens, 8 weeks old, a Barred Rock and an Ameraucana. My husband is still building their coop but it's almost there. Now.. for my question. When we start letting them roam around the backyard do we need to clip their wings?? My husband says they'll fly into the neighbors yard. Note: we are NOT on a farm! We live in the suburbs in a subdivision. We have neighbors on both sides and a pond behind us with houses all around it. I'm afraid of them not defending themselves properly if they were attacked by some animal if we clipped their wings.. yet I'm also scared they'll fly away to the next yards.. Can anyone advise me as to what I should do?? Thank you!!

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    I live in a suburban neighborhood and used to have the same fear as you. Turns out my fears were unfounded. I have a 6 foot wood fence and there is no way those fat birds could get over that fence even if they were interested. They have beak to ground looking for bugs anyway and that keeps them interested.

If you have a very low fence, you might have something to be concerned about.

3. GuppyTJ

GuppyTJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2013
    Kentucky
    My Coop