1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help! I'm past day 21. No chicks.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by SallyH, Mar 14, 2012.

1. SallyH

SallyH Out Of The Brooder

May 21, 2011
    This is my first time incubating eggs. I believe I have followed the incubation instructions as close to perfect as I can get them. My eggs should have hatched Saturday or Sunday. Haven't checked yet this morning but as of last night there were no signs of hatching. On Monday, just to see what was going on, I broke open one of the eggs. There was a full-grown chick, still alive, in there. What am I doing wrong? How can I get the eggs to hatch? I set the eggs on February 18, then I put the eggs on lockdown March 8. Some of the eggs I have in cardboard cartons and some are just laying on the wire. I was just experimenting to see which one would be best. I don't have a way to measure the humidity but I've filled the wells with water.

2. greybuzzard

greybuzzard New Egg

Mar 9, 2012
    Asheboro NC
    Well, if it was me, I would wet some paper towels and put them in so that the humidity would come up, as you say you have no way to measure humidity,,,,just my 2 cents...

3. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop