HELP!! Incubator got unplugged :/

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by GraceHomestead, Jan 17, 2017.

1. GraceHomestead

GraceHomestead Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2016
    This is my first time with incubation. Today is day 9 and everything has gone very well. We did Candeling on Sunday and removed all unfertile eggs.
    My cat must have unplugged the incubator at some point I am unsure when.
    When I came in to check like I do every morning the temp was 79 and humidity 70! I quickly plugged the bator back in and now I need to know what to do! Will they be ok? Or will we have to start over :(

2. SIMZ

SIMZ Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    Northwest Indiana
    No - they should be fine. Just plug it in and go from there. They may hatch a little late, but it doesn't sound like it was longer than 24 hours, right?

3. SIMZ

Apr 29, 2011
    Northwest Indiana
    It's happened to me before. We had a power outage when it was cold and the power was off for almost 12 hours. Another time I accidently locked my broody hen away from her eggs for 8 hours about 3 days before they were supposed to hatch! [​IMG]Believe it or not, they all just fine.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  4. GraceHomestead

Jun 21, 2016
    Thanks, Right! I checked everything at 1:00 before going to bed and this morning hubby checked at 6am so it happened between 6 and 9 this morninh. I plugged back in and it is now back to the normal temp but The humidity is still a tad high.

5. GraceHomestead

Jun 21, 2016
    Oh my I would have been very upset! So they made it? We are at day 9 so still very early.

I am glad they all turned out fine. My hubby said, "The chickens/ducks get up to eat and drink! They will be fine!" but I am a worry wart! Lol

6. SIMZ

Apr 29, 2011
    Northwest Indiana