help inside of coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by todd walker, Jan 10, 2010.

1. todd walker

todd walker Out Of The Brooder

Nov 28, 2009
    E TX,Mabank
    My coop is 10'x13' and the boxes are 12''x12''x12'',and there are 60 total(coop was here when I bought the place)
    As you can see in pic's boxes on left,on the right there are windows,my plan is just to put some roost on the left side,problem is everything I read says to put the roost above boxes I cant unless I make some new boxes,so should I be ok?ie, birds not sleeping in boxes making a mess.Also no big hurry birds are only 5-7 weeks old just trying to plan ahead.
    Thanks
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Ps,
    Don't mind the mess the ducks are in there now.

2. Manok-Tao

Manok-Tao Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2010
    W-S NC
    Newbie here...but from what I've learned
    I'd block off the entire bottom row of boxes to keep litter etc out. The second row looks to be prime height. Depending on amount of hens you'll have there are way too many boxes. maybe keep half of the 2nd row and a few of the 3rd row. The upper rows should be blocked off. I believe the thought of keeping the nest boxes below the roost is so they will be under a poop board and sheltered from getting messy, your set up already eliminates that..
    Pretty cool coop to have already there..looks like it's got alot of potential

3. PunkinPeep

PunkinPeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2009
    SouthEast Texas
    i agree with blocking off the upper most nest boxes. the reason it is recommended to put the roosts higher than the nest boxes is because chickens instinctively want to roost in high places. if the nest boxes are at the same or comparable height, the chickens may want to sleep in the nest boxes instead of on the roosts.

also keep in mind, you don't really need as many nest boxes as you have chickens, since they tend to share the same favorite boxes.

4. todd walker

Nov 28, 2009