Help! Is this Mites, lice or just a dirty bum

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kimmered, Jan 20, 2010.

1. kimmered

kimmered Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2010
    Hi there,

I'm totally new at this so I have no idea what I'm dealing with. I've looked at a few posts about a dirty bum and I think I might have a bit of a problem. I got 2 hens 4 days ago from a guy who got them from a battery farm. He had been free-ranging them for 4 mos, but didn't really take care of them. Didn't treat them for any parasites/diseases etc. So one of them started laying eggs 2 days ago, but she is also the one with a really really dirty bum. I didn't think anything of that until I started reading some posts on here. So I got her in a tub of warm water and soaked/splashed soapy warm water on her for about 10 mins. I pretty much got most of the poo off, but there is still some caked on there. Should I try and get that off?? I uploaded some pictures which aren't the best because she kept moving. Any advice or suggestions would be really appreciated!!!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  2. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    If he didn't care for them, you can safely treat them for worms, lice and mites. And my fix for poo on the butt feathers is to cut it off. It's just going to get dirty again. I guess some vits may be nice too.

3. kimmered

Jan 17, 2010
    Ok so it's completely safe/pain free to cut the feathers off back there? Just sort of an inch long or right to the skin?

4. Partyfowl

Partyfowl Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2009
    Pacific Northwest