HELP! Its my first time ordering!!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by hunterkipferl, Jan 18, 2014.

1. hunterkipferl

hunterkipferl Out Of The Brooder

Oct 31, 2013
    SO in December I ordered chicks from ideal poultry! They will be shipped out February 12thThis is my first time ordering and using a brooder. I have had chickens before but none that needed a brooder before. My husband made quite the brooder but I have a couple questions! For instance WHAT THE HECK AM I DOING!? [​IMG]Can I take them out to play during the day or do I have to leave them in the brooder? Do I have to make a "nesting area" for them to sleep in? Do I need little roosts (so cute!) I am so excited yet so nervous! Any tips and Especially pics would be greatly appreciated! [​IMG]

This is what I got!:

5 Black Silkie Chicks
    5 White Silkie Chicks
    5 Grey Silkie Chicks
    5 Buff Silkie Chicks
    5 Partridge Silkie Chicks
    5 Red Silkie Chicks
    5 Blue Silkie Chicks
    5 Self Blue Silkie Chicks (Lavender)
    6 Bantam Ameraucanas Chicks
    2 French Guinea Chicks
    2 Fawn and White Runner Female Ducklings (For My Mom In Law)
    1 Black and White Magpie Female Duckling
    1 Black East India Female Duckling
    1 Blue Swedish Female Duckling
    1 Rouen Female Duckling

HELP WANTED!!!!

2. SelfMadeFarming

SelfMadeFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2013
    When I have mine in a brooder, I just have pine shaving on the floor, they will usually just sit right in it and not on a roost until they are a little older.
    I always played with mine, but they usually poop on me.

I never had any die or get sick. Keep them warm with a heat lamp, food and water and clean bedding (pine shaving) and they should be happy and healthy.

3. SelfMadeFarming

SelfMadeFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2013
    [​IMG]
    Here's a pic of my girls when they were about a week old in their brooder

1 person likes this.
  4. chickyscratch

chickyscratch Out Of The Brooder