1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help! I've been feeding my hens grass :(

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by hali74, Nov 18, 2013.

1. hali74

hali74 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2013
    I'm a newbie when it comes to looking after hens and I've been trying to educate myself on these hens via youtube videos/forums/books etc.. So I watched this video where the hens were set free on grass and they seemed to love it!!

Seeing this I ran to my local park (I'm from the uk) and I got one full carrier bag of quite long grass would say 4 inches (thinking they'd love it :( ) bad Idea I know since now I'm worried they'll get an impacted crop!!!

I'm actually petrified at the thought of my girls having their crops sliced open ... I felt one of my girls crop quite hard this evening when I was putting her in her coop - I'm really really hoping it's the food she's had all day & not any grass :(

I'm going to go check her crop in the morning and remove all the grass that's left ( I doubt there's any left)

I'm soo scared! I've got olive oil at the ready - how much shall I feed her?

Thanks guys

2. satay

satay oz-e-chick

Sep 2, 2008
    Esk Qld Australia
    They should be fine. My hens free range all day and eat plenty of grass. Never had one with impacted crop yet.

3. Flybybirds

Flybybirds Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2013
    Florida