Help! Lost one and don't want to lose another!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by DHcallsmeChickenCrazy, Jul 6, 2011.

1. DHcallsmeChickenCrazy

DHcallsmeChickenCrazy Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2011
    Please help. I'm new to chickens, and I think my ignorance kept me from saving one of my other pullets last week. Now I have another one exhibiting the same symptoms, and I hope I'm catching it in time this time around!

She is a partridge cochin, "Amelia," about 10 weeks old.

I noticed her acting sleepy about 2 days ago. Her head/neck is withdrawn. I've seen her eating and drinking, but she's not running around scratching, etc. She just stands there and sleeps a lot. I've put Sulmet in their water since all this started happening. Unfortunately, I haven't seen her poop, but I haven't seen any unusual-looking poop in the coop either.

Other chickens seem fine, but like I said before, there was another one (my sweet little Dominique "Fannie"), who did this last week and died. I'm sure I let it go too long (she had been doing this about 3-4 days when I decided something was wrong). I brought her in the house and syringe fed her water with Sulmet in it every 30 min all day but it was too late.

I really don't want to end up with the same outcome. My whole family and I have fallen in love with these babies.

Here's a link to a pic of Fannie who died last week...this is what she was doing and what Amelia is doing. As soon as I can get a pic of Amelia, I'll post it. Until then...any idea what this could be and what I can do to keep her alive?

http://thebeardfamily.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/010.jpg

TIA

Amy

2. char259

char259 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Waynesboro
    I am by no means an expert but I had a 'sleepy hen' and was advised by members here to worm her. I did - her plus the whole flock - and she improved tremendously.