Help! Male or Female chicks? Ameraucana and Barred Rock

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Demi00, Apr 7, 2017.

1. Demi00

Demi00 New Egg

Apr 7, 2017
    Pinckney, Michigan
    Hello! I am brand new to the Backyard Chicken community and am a first time chicken mom! [​IMG] I purchased 6 chicks from a local feed and seed shop in town and was told that they were all females; however, my uncle believes 2 of them are males. Based on the photos that I am attaching, can you chicken experts give me your opinion? Are they male or female?

Also, if these babies are in fact males, what should I do? Haha! That is a very broad question, but I am concerned about a number of things (this is mostly due to the fact that I am still learning how to raise chickens). I wasn't planning on having a rooster and was only interested in raising hens for the eggs (and bc they are loveable little creatures!)

If I in fact have 2 males, how do I determine whether or not to keep them? I am not opposed to having a rooster, I just need some advice and suggestions.

How do I go about find them new homes if that is what I need to do?

If I keep a rooster, how does this impact my eggs? Can I still eat them regularly if they get fertilized?

*Chick #1 (Matilda)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

*Chick #2 (Margaret)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

....and this one just bc they are so dang cute!
    [​IMG]

~4 weeks old:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  2. Ogdenfarms22

Ogdenfarms22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2017
    How old are these guys? only a couple weeks? Its still really early to tell. The second chick Margaret (haha I'm Maggie) has quite the comb compared to all the others. So if it starts turning pink in the next few weeks I wouldn't be surprised. If it turns pink she is definitely a Manuel instead of Margaret. Post some more pics in a couple weeks!

3. Demi00

Demi00 New Egg

Apr 7, 2017
    Pinckney, Michigan