HELP!!!!! Mass on rear end- Possible Prolapse

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kmberman, Sep 1, 2009.

1. kmberman

kmberman New Egg

May 11, 2009
    Hi, I have a 4 month old Vantress X that has a mass coming out of her bottom!!!! It looks like she may be trying to lay an egg, not sure. I am new to this & she was going to be dinner, but my son fell in love with her.

She is just standing aground & trying to poop, her beak is a little white & she is just puffed up feather wise. I put on some gloves to help her, if it is an egg, & her back side has dark blood, white membrane, and her hole is pushed to the side & swollen.... I have her away from all the others in the garage & she does have food & water, but she is not touching it.
    I am trying to get pics on, but having a hard time uploading..

Thank You
    Kim

[​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 1, 2009
  2. Hollywood Chickens

Hollywood Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2009
    Florida
    bump

3. WingingIt

WingingIt Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2009
    Sounds like a prolapse from what I've read on other threads here. I've never dealt with one so am certainly not expert. I'd suggest changing your thread title to possible prolapse and hopefully that will get the attention of those that have successfully dealt with one. Good luck!

4. farmerjill

farmerjill Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2009