1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help me be realistic!! Should I keep him?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by goldie1234, Sep 15, 2015.

1. goldie1234

goldie1234 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2015
    I am new to chickens this year. We ended up with 6 Roos and culled all but two. We just bought a straight run of purebred Ameraucanas and some CCL's (2-6 weeks old). We should end up with more 5-7 Roos. We also may get a few black copper Marans as a straight run.
    I am only really set up to keep one Roos considering my space and number of chickens. I do have the ability to divide the coop/run but I want to reserve that for hatching, injury, introducing new members.
    We have a black EE we are going to cull. The problem is I also have an EE Roo that I really like. Next year we may want to hatch a few to try it. if I were to keep one it probably shouldn't be this EE. I would probably be better served keeping a purebred right? I would rather cull now if I'm going to.

Which breed would be the best roo to keep? Between these Roos: BBS Ameraucanas, CCL, this EE, and probably black copper Marans

My hens: barred rock, BSL, white leghorn, 3 EE, JG, red star. I should end up with 5-7 BBS Ameraucanas, 3 CCL, and maybe some black copper Marans.

Here is the EE and can't decided about. He is about 17 weeks old:
    [​IMG]

2. EmtheFishLady

EmtheFishLady We're all mad here Premium Member

Jan 13, 2011
    Glen, MS
    Keep the rooster you'll be most happy with.

What good is a rooster you don't enjoy?

If you want purebred chicks, keep a purebred roo. If that doesn't matter to you, then keep you EE.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2015
    1 person likes this.
  3. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011