Help me figure out their sex

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by ilovechickens, Jan 19, 2009.

1. ilovechickens

ilovechickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2008
    West Central Wisconsin
    [​IMG]I know that this sounds goofy, but I have 8 Guineas and would like to know how many females. I think that I have 5 males possibly 6 and 2 females. Okay here are they are:[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. marytoast

marytoast Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2008
    Carthage, NC
    I am new at this too. A friend of mine told me that the ones with the large earlobe thingies were male and the smaller earlobes were female. I'm not sure it is true but it may help. Maybe someone else has some way to tell. [​IMG]

3. byrandom

byrandom Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 22, 2008
    Terrell, TX
    :/The only way that I've been able to tell my Guineas' sexes were by the calls they make as adults. Females make a two syllable call which sounds much like "buck-wheat!", where as the males do not. They both, however, do make a one syllable "alarm" call.

Hope that helps. [​IMG]

4. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    It is almost impossible to tell just by looking at them. As stated before, the females make a two-syllable call, and the males make a single call. The males is kind of like 'cheet cheet cheet' where the females are 'buck wheat, buck wheat, buck wheat' mine sound more like 'come back come back come back', but you get the idea! [​IMG]

5. chicks for better health

chicks for better health Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    West Glenville, NY
    The females will have a slightly smaller helmet. The tip of it might also be lower (closer to the head). The waddles may also be smaller, there is something slightly different with their shape as well.

6. BigByrd24

BigByrd24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 27, 2008
    S.E. Kansas