Help ME I believe this to be a Female RIR

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by WildeChicken, Jan 24, 2014.

1. WildeChicken

WildeChicken New Egg

Dec 3, 2013
    Bay Area
    Hello, my chicken loving people! I am embarking on a whole new journey as a "chicken mom". I believe I have picked out a RIR FEMALE. But it was only born on the 20th. I have never owned a pet chicken, only had them in yard as layers. (and even then they were mostly my fathers)

ANYWAYS I am trying to make sure that the lil chick I chose is indeed a Gal bc I am already pretty attached. And not that roosters are not awesome, But as an indoor pet... I dont think the crowing would work out well... :) Hahah Please let me know what you all think. I mean I looked online and the colors vary... and me being a novice I would rather have some "expert" advise!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. chickenlver2013

chickenlver2013 Chillin' With My Peeps

3. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio
    Feather sexing does NOT work every time. It only works with chicks from a first-generation cross that were specifically bred to be feather-sexed, and even then only when the chicks are a day or two old. It doesn't work on older chicks.

OP, there is no way to sex your baby. It's even too old to vent-sex at this point. Sorry, you'll have to wait.

2 people like this.
  4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

Agreed--that feather sexing is for specific crosses. Folks don't always read the fine print [​IMG]

OP--your bird is too young to tell the gender. You'll want to be watching for a large, red comb--with this breed that'll likely be your first clue if you have a boy. Post pics again around 6 weeks and we'll have a better idea of gender, by then they're usually pretty obvious if they're male. Red boys aren't shy, as a rule!

Last edited: Jan 24, 2014
  5. SilkiesForEver