Help me make a diagnosis? Is there a dr. house for chickens out there?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by tp70731, Jan 21, 2012.

1. tp70731

tp70731 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 21, 2011
    Potomac Md
    My Coop
    THE SYMPTOMS OF MY 15 NEW 1 YEAR OLD RED SEX LINKS AND 2 DELAWARE HENS

1) Sneezing (2-4 chickens)
    2) Gargling noise while breathing (8 chickens)
    3) Swollen Face (2 chickens)
    4) One eye closed (4 chickens)
    5) Runny nose (5 chickens)

Any ideas on a diagnosis and cure?

Here is a backstory.

I bought these chickens off a guy on craigslist (never again) . I am new to buying older chickens so i didn't check them for diseases when they arrived. I put the sex links in my barn(where i previously housed 5 golden comets who are now in a separate coop and doing just fine) and the delawares in a separate coop. I used moldy hay and regular wood shavings as bedding. 4 days after i bought them i realized that half of them were sick. Could is have come from the moldy hay? or possibly from the old barn? Are these the symptoms caused by moldy hay? or did they get this disease elsewhere from the guy on craigslist? How long does it take for a chicken to show symptoms? It's a week later and i have 10 sick chickens... If anyone can answer any of these questions it would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!! Thanks for the help :)

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

These are symptoms for Coryza:
    Clinical signs: Swelling around the face, foul smelling, thick, sticky discharge from the nostrils and eyes, labored breathing, and rales (rattles -- an abnormal breathing sound) are common clinical signs. The eyelids are irritated and may stick together. The birds may have diarrhea and growing birds may become stunted.

Here's a link that may help you: http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044