Help Me Please with construction The $50.00 a dozen eggs better be good someday. Lol

Evolvingspirit

Chirping
Oct 19, 2021
I just joined and I need help please.
I have a 5 x10 retriever dog kennel. Just ordered the roof top for it. Covered with tarp now. I covered the sides with hardware cloth
I am in mid construction of bordering the ground about 12 inches down, 18 inches out with 2x4. Inch welded wire and hardware cloth. I have wood pallets on the ground on the inside covered with hay and sawdust. Do I have to put hardware cloth under the pallets. Right now the chickens aren't scratching much. Guess because it's not dirt. I'm brand new to this. Should I get rid of the pallets?

My concern is predators in northern California. Got them all! Even huge ravens nest near the house, big black birds,, maybe they are not ravens.. I hate rats and rattlesnakes freak me out. Lol. My handy friend said pallets should keep heavy predors from coming up through the bottom in the inside of the coop,, but sometimes I wonder if this is the right thing to do. Maybe 2x4 welded mesh. Thinking hardware cloth may not be needed. My friend said the perimeter is enough.

I have a. 24x24 area shaded with tall trees..I want to build for their run. I can put up a electric fence with a solar panel.i already have a solar panel and metal wire. Would the bobcats jump over it? What spacing of wires should I use if you think this is a good idea. The area has good tree coverage. Do I have to put bird netting over the area. Someone said the hawks and such would crash through it. I would like to let them out but don't want to watch them all day. Would a pallet fence be better?

Have the following for 2 weeks now.. I have 1 male and 4 female west coast harlequin ducks