Help Me PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bufforpingtons13, Mar 13, 2011.

1. bufforpingtons13

bufforpingtons13 In the Brooder

Oct 26, 2010
    I went up to my coop today and found a hen by the water with her mouth open and she was breathing hard. I cought her and brought her to my garage and i turned her up by her feet and a bunch of gooey watery stuff came out of her mouth. I put her in a cage by herself, and when i checked on her again her poop was watery. What do you yhink is wrong?????????????????????

2. Thegrayeyedgirl

Thegrayeyedgirl Chirping

Jan 14, 2011
    The moment you mentioned that gooey/watery stuff came out of her mouth, I immediately thought Congestive Heart failure. But with diarrhea? I'm not sure. A chicken expert may know better. I'm a nursing student for people...but I know chickens get CHF too..how old is she?

Edited for spelling

Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  3. bufforpingtons13

Oct 26, 2010
    Quote:She is 6 months old and was completely fine yesterday........but like i said she was right beside the water.

4. tammye

tammye Songster

Mar 22, 2010
    NH
    not sure may be a respiratory illness, at least isolate her from the others, only other thought might be impacted crop, hope someone here can help you. but you can look either of these posssibilities up in the search engine and see if her symptoms fit. hope she does ok

5. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life

could be a crop issue also hows her crop feel?

6. tinychicky

tinychicky Songster

Mar 24, 2010
    Hollis, New Hampshire