HELP! Mommy hen killed, left babies

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by krzybo, Mar 29, 2009.

1. krzybo

krzybo Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2009
    Danielsville, GA
    Our Mommy hen was killed last night and left 3 baby chicks that are 3 1/2 weeks old. What do I need to do to take care of them? They were in a coup with 3 other hens and doing great. Temperatures get 35 to 40 at night. We didn't have a light on them at night because Mom kept them warm. Any information would be greatly appreciated since I am new to raising babies.

2. Buster

Buster Back to Work

Quote:I would put them somewhere away from the hens and get a heat lamp on them. You may have to set up a brooder in your house. If they are outside that young, they may freeze to death or the hens are going to kill them. Get them inside and under lights.

3. Chickenaddict

Chickenaddict Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2008
    East Bethel MN
    Get a big box or one of those sotrage tubs, get a light 100 watt at least. Put down some pine shavings and put the chicks in there with feed and water. You are gonna have to take care of them now. WHat happened to the mama? predator? The chicks need to be on chick starter and at about 80-85 degrees dropping the temp 5 degrees per week until they are weened off the light and feathered out

4. krzybo

Mar 29, 2009
    Danielsville, GA