Help!! month old chick and 4 mo old hen swallowed whole plum pit!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sixlittlechicks09, Jul 19, 2010.

1. sixlittlechicks09

sixlittlechicks09 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2010
    Wyalusing
    We have peaches and plum trees down by our chicken coop. Our hens LOVE to pick at half eaten peach pits, they'll eat off the meat then leave the pit there. But today I was munching on some plums and without thinking tossed it at the chickens. Instead of picking at it one of our RIR hens swallowed the thing whole. I immediately realized that probably wasn't good, and went to grab the other two I tossed. I got the one, but our month old Barred Rock pullet gulped down the other one before I could grab it. They seem okay now but is a plum pit in their crops going to affect them? [​IMG] And if so, what can I do for them? Thanks so much!!

2. Cat Water

Cat Water That Person

Jul 4, 2010
    Mid Coast Maine
    I am new to chicken keeping, so I don't know much about them, but I think that they will be allright. Good luck!

Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  3. mmaddie's mom

mmaddie's mom Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] OMG... I was just going to ask the same thing about a cherry pit... but WOW, a plum pit ?!? I would like to know the answer to this also ?!? [​IMG]

4. BeccaB00

BeccaB00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2010
    Kansas
    [​IMG] This is a tough one, because everything I see my chickens eat...they break it down first. My chickens have NEVER swallowed ANYTHING that was that big. Just watch them. I'm not sure if it will block anything or not.. I'll definatly be checking this thread very often!

5. VioletBlueIvy

VioletBlueIvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010