Help! Mosquitoes are carrying my goats away!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by ronshoney, Jun 4, 2008.

1. ronshoney

ronshoney Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2007
    Algonac, Michigan
    I have 2 6 mo. old nigerians and 2 5 mo. old mini nubians and a 1 year old alpine/togg. mix. The mosquitoes are terrible! We haven't had enough real hot days and lots of rain lately. They are so bad that when the dog went to pee at the edge of the woods we were both covered. Needless to say he went very quickly. I am new to goats and don't know what to use to help them... I know I squeeze the garlic caps. on the cat and dog food from spring till Nov. to keep away the mosquitoes and fleas and sometimes we spray the dog with the backwoods cutter that we use on the kids but what is safe for goat. Oh and taking the garlic caps helps for humans too with mosquitoes.... but it might keep a few people away too!! [​IMG]

2. farmgirlie1031

farmgirlie1031 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2008
    IA
    I don't have goats but I think horse fly spray would work. I used to use it on my sheep when I had them. It helped keep flies, mosquitos, and gnats off of them.

3. Sulteric

Sulteric Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2008
    Central Massachusetts
    Horse fly spray? I did not know such a thing existed. I need some for my chickens and for my pool! Is there a site you would recommend get some?

4. Wildsky

Wildsky Wild Egg!

Oct 13, 2007
    California
    If I buy online I buy from

www.horse.com but do check your stuff when it arrives, I've twice had things missing, but they do have the best prices.

you could try either a horse fly spray or a spot on as well, the spot on is supposed to work for two weeks, but it doens't work that long for me.

I also bought a trap (dynatrap) and have a zapper.... we have MILLIONS of mosquitos as well...

this time next year I'll have Muscovy's to eat em... I hope! [​IMG]

5. Sulteric

Sulteric Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2008