Help! Multiple parasite problems.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Popcorn, Jan 3, 2013.

1. Popcorn

Popcorn Out Of The Brooder

Jun 25, 2012
    I am a college student who studies three hours away from home, so I don't go home often. My dad has been taking care of my flock of two roosters and seven hens but apparently didn't ever check for parasites. I came home for Christmas to discover three huge problems: my coop was infected with red mite, ALL of my chickens have what I think are poultry lice (little white crawlies with egg clusters around feathers), and one poor pullet has horrible scaly leg mites, to the point where some of her scales are falling off. I have scoured and dusted the coop with DE and another insecticide, and it has recently snowed. I don't see any signs of red mite, but doubt they were that easy to get rid of. I have been treating all the birds with Poultry Protector, spraying them to try to get rid of the lice. I have used a toothbrush and Vasline on my pullet with leg mites, but don't know how much it is helping. Is there anything I can do to kill off all the pests quickly? I have to go back to school soon and don't trust that my dad will be able to continue treatment.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  2. applegal

applegal Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2011
    Do they have access to a dust bath? Since it snowed, I'm guessing your ground is frozen like mine. I have a "sandbox" in the coop for the girls. Maybe adding some DE and a parasite powder to dust bath area would help. Not much help, I'm afraid. Hopefully someone else will have some good ideas.

3. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens