1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help my chicken is like a statue! I am a novice and need advice desperately!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gigglssmls, Jan 27, 2013.

1. gigglssmls

gigglssmls Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2012
    I have had chickens and geese for about 67 months now and still feel so lost sometimes. Recently I was given a hen I named licorice. Licorice is a black astrolorp and I knew right off the bat she was older. Anyhow, she is non mobile now, not eating and BARELY drinking. I treated her with antibiotics, and some DE. I currently have her isolatred in a cage in order that if she is contagious my other hens woill notbein contact. She is NOT acting like a normal hen. She lets me do ANYTHING I want with her.... I can pose her and she stays.... I actually forced open her beaj\k and placed a VERY small buit of food in her mouth which she ate. Any ideas on what might be wrong?

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Hi Michelle, I hope you're doing well. I remember your previous post about Licorice. Stop the antibiotics, they arnt working. Dont give her any DE, that is useless.
    Keep her seperated from the others. I recommend that you worm her with valbazen liquid cattle/sheep wormer or safeguard liquid goat wormer. Dosage for either product is 1/2cc given orally undiluted, use a syringe without a needle. Repeat worming her again in 10 days. You can also use safeguard equine paste to worm her. Dosage is a "pea" size amount of the paste given to her orally, repeat again in 10 days.

Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  3. gigglssmls

Oct 28, 2012