1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP, MY CHICKEN WAS ATTACKED BY A DOG!!!!!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Peacheschic, Mar 5, 2013.

1. Peacheschic

Peacheschic Out Of The Brooder

Jan 3, 2013
    Redding Ca
    This is my first time posting here, I come on here a lot and read every ones threads and learn. But now I need help! On Saturday March 2, 2013 my Silver Laced Wyandotte was attacked by my neighbors dog! I rushed over to her and picked her up with my sweater and carried her into my house, crying the hole time! I examined her, and I couldn't find any blood. She lost some feathers, and her eyes were swollen and puffy. I have been keeping a close eye on her. Feeding her warm oatmeal, yogurt, and chick starter that's medicated. I have also made a saline solution for her eyes. After I clean up her eyes I put antibiotic ointment on both of her eyes. They were very pussy, I can tell her eyes are getting better, but I just don't know if she will ever be able to see again. I let her out in our enclosed back yard with my supervision yesterday, and she was walking around, scratching the ground and eating little things! I think that brightened her spirits! Also ever since she was attacked I have been hearing this weird crackling noise, I think it may be coming from inside of her? Any input on this is very much appreciated!

2. americana-lover

americana-lover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2012
    Michigan