Help! my incubator has packed up

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sarahmichelle86, Nov 12, 2014.

1. sarahmichelle86

sarahmichelle86 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 12, 2014
    Hi there, I have 3 white Campbell eggs that started off as 6, 2 were infertile 1 quit at day 6 I went up a few hours ago to discover my incubators temperature was going up and down and I couldn't stabilise it, I have a back up brinsea mini eco which I've plugged in and raised temp to 37.6 I have transferred eggs over into incubator and shut off other one, have I deemed my eggs to die I know your meant to run an incubator in for a while but with the other one going up and down every few secs I didn't want to risk leaving them in there they are still hearts beating away and no sign yet of any damage any advice greatly appreciated.

2. sarahmichelle86

Nov 12, 2014
    Any help guys much appreciated

3. jtn42248

jtn42248 Overrun With Chickens

I am not an expert on incubation however from what you describe I doubt you have done any harm. You may have, in fact, saved their little lives. So just keep an eye on the new incubator and make sure it maintains the correct temp and humidity. I have an incubator and plan on using it this spring for my Cayuga eggs but I also live way out in the country and evertime there is a hickup in the atmosphere we loose power. So, I am worried about that. But someone here pointed out that even the mother when sitting gets up now and then to eat and drink water or to shift the eggs around.

4. sarahmichelle86

Nov 12, 2014
    Thank you for your reply, this is my first attempt at duck eggs and fingers crossed these last three survive :/

5. sarahmichelle86

Nov 12, 2014
    They made it through the night so fingers crossed they all survive

6. jtn42248