Help! My Silkie is acting strange... Are these Egg Bound symptoms?

upmycreek

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 7, 2011
I have a black silkie that acted very strange today. She would walk three steps and then lay down. I was throwing out treats to the flock (12 hens) and she was with them but she was laying down while she ate. Then tonight she couldn't get up the ramp to roost with the other hens. She barely got to the first step and just sat there flayling her wings as if she didn't know how to walk up the ramp. She's been walking up the ramp for months. She is just of age to lay eggs and her sister has been laying normal eggs for about a month. I checked her vent and it looks normal, but she is obviously not acting normal. I have only had chickens for about 7 months so I am new to any issues with hens when they begin laying for the first time. Any suggestions or maybe other problems that it could be. Thanks so much!

Last edited:
i did separated her and brought her inside tonight. I also soaked her bottom/vent in a warm bath. I am not an expert and just learned what and where the crop was last week... it felt semi-full tonight and she did drink a few sips of water while she was soaking and ate some freeze dried meal worms while she was drying. She doesn't seem to be able to walk well. She was walking just fine yesterday and had no problem running around. When she went up in the coop last night she was normal and didn't seem distressed in any way. She just sat in my lap on the couch while she was drying and just stared at the tv with me... we watched the Golden Girls.

I don't know what the vent is supposed to look like. here are two pictures that i tried to take after the bath.

85667_imag2203.jpg

85667_imag2209.jpg