HELP!!! Need show advice:) just getting started!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by ket806, Dec 11, 2012.

1. ket806

ket806 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2012
    Hello everyone! I am new to the show world:) I am very excited to get started its been something I've wanted to do for a while! Now I get to do it:))! My interests in showing are polish,frizzle,d'uccle, and SILKIES!!! I am up for absolutely anything to show but those are my fave!! I attatched a few pics of a few I have now and will really appropriate any input THANK YOU!!

These silkies I acquired from a friend she had them as pets. I am curious if they are just pets or if they have potential in breeding or show:) they are all young birds(as I was told). None have molted yet.
    •White nonbearded silkie hen
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    •buff non bearded silkie hen(I believe she's the best I have)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    •black non bearded silkie hen(older then others)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    •silkie non bearded hen(I don't think she is show quality just want to know if she is full and what her color is)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    •non bearded silkie roo(again don't think he is show quality want to know color and if he is full)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ~~~ok this is a Japanese white roo. He stands in a v to impress(show,pet,breeder?)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ~~~Japanese white hen(breed,show,pet)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thank you so much for looking and for any input:)

2. OR4-hmom

OR4-hmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    Grants Pass, OR
    Sorry I can't be of any help with Silkies. I'm guessing you will be showing in conformation which I haven't done, only helped kids with chicken info for their 4-H showmanship.
    Hopefully someone with Silkie knowledge will chime in for you.

The JB roo has what is known as wry tail - I believe that is a disqualification in showing.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  3. NYREDS