Help! need to know to candle eggs or not??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by arkansaschicks, Jun 28, 2010.

1. arkansaschicks

arkansaschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    little rock
    I have a hen that is on about 10 eggs and it is about day 11. For the last week I have tried to get to the eggs to candle them to know if they are fertile or not. (with two roosters I am sure more than half are fertile).
    When I mess with the eggs she gets very mean and starts pecking violently and I am afraid she might peck a couple of the eggs as I am taking them out. I know that handling them is not a good thing especially this far along. So my question is, is it more important to remove any unfertile eggs or is it better to not touch them and just let them all go the 21 days? I guess I am afraid of any bad eggs exploding so I would really like to remove the ones that are not growing. Then again I am new at this and do not know if I could really tell which eggs are bad. The brown ones are really hard to see into!! Should I just leave the eggs alone? Please let me know what is the best way to handle this situation. THANKS!

2. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    I don't usually hatch with broodies, and haven't had much luck with it yet anyway, but for what it's worth I would say don't bother taking the eggs out. If she's got good instincts, she'll throw them out when they go bad anyway. As bad as my hens are at hatching, they nevertheless have never had one explode under them--they always remove them when they're bad.

Good luck!

3. arkansaschicks

May 28, 2010
    little rock
    Really?? I did not know that she will get them out. I am new at this! So if I find an egg out of the nest then is is most likely bad. Good to know!! Thanks!

4. cackleberrylinda

cackleberrylinda Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2010
    Arlington