Help! Neighbors dog attacked my chicken!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Allie Grace Sanders, Oct 12, 2017.

1. Allie Grace Sanders

Allie Grace Sanders Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2017
    Indiana
    Hi, I'm new to BYC. Earlier today my neighbors dog attacked my chicken, Lucky. When he brought her home, most of her lower back feathers were gone, her wing blades were bloody, and she had a puncture in her neck. She won't eat or drink yet, but she has passed droppings. I was going to put her out of her misery, but decided to see if she will make it through the night. Any advice would be useful, thanks!

2. micstrachan

micstrachan Chillin' With My Peeps

You will grt lots of advice here. I have seen some amazing recoveries on these forums! She needs to be looked over thoroughly for more puncture wounds and they need to be cleaned. Are there any breaks? Please keep her warm and comfortable in a calm place where you can observe her. Do you have electrolytes? If she won’t drink and you have the patience, try putting individual drops of fluid on the top of her beak, away from her nares. She may drink them on her own.
    What is her body language like? Can she stand and walk?

Hen Pen Jem and azygous like this.
  3. azygous

azygous True BYC Addict

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    If you can, she should be given an antibiotic. Puncture wounds are full of bacteria that can kill a chicken very quickly. Open wounds should be cleaned and kept moist with an antibiotic ointment.

She's in shock and giving her electrolytes is as important for her survival as an antibiotic. I hope she makes it.

Hen Pen Jem likes this.
  4. Allie Grace Sanders

Oct 12, 2017
    Indiana
    She is able to walk and stand, but she doesn't do it much. Should I make her drink, or leave her alone? Thank you for all the advice so far!:thumbsup

5. azygous

azygous True BYC Addict

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies