Help! New to forum and have mystery with Lavender Orp chick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Chickaddict44, Aug 3, 2014.

1. Chickaddict44

Chickaddict44 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 3, 2014
    Hi everyone...I am fairly new to chicken keeping other than having them as a child and I'm having issues with one of my 4 week old Lavender Orpingtons I bought from a breeder. I bought three from her, ages 2 and 1 week. Within days I noticed one having what seemed to be some wing weakness but the next day was okay. It would go off and on like that. I thought maybe it was the heat. They are in my barn in quarantine from my flock where it is cooler. They are fed chick starter and was told she fed medicated feed. The other day I went in to clean the cage and she was off on her own so I went over to see what she was doing and she could not walk. On advice of a friends avian vet (avian vet locally was away) was told it sounded like a vitamin deficiency . So I started her on brewers yeast, children Vitamin D and Poul-Vite added to the water. I also fed her boiled egg for the first two days. She eats well, drinks lots and has normal poop...just can't move her legs well. Will fall over and flap about. The breeder said she has no sick birds and neither do I so it does seem either neurological or a deficiency of some type. Its been 5 days on a rickets diet of boiled egg, fish oil, yogurt, honey, beef cat food, vitamins, and rice baby cereal...not much improvement. If anyone has any advice or experience in this I would greatly appreciate it especially when it comes to amount of time it takes to see improvement or when it is time to give up. She is truly a sweet chick..was always the first to greet me and fly to my lap. She's living in the house separated from the rest. If she makes it through this she may not realize she is a chicken...lol

2. Chickaddict44

Aug 3, 2014
    No one has some experience to offer? [​IMG]

3. luvmichx