Help! Newbie with questions for coop, run, predators, etc

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by radishgirl, Feb 13, 2013.

1. radishgirl

radishgirl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 4, 2013
    Placerville, CA
    Im a newbie. :)

We have 12 layers, 2 roosters and 4 bantam show birds. They have a fenced area that is appx 40x40' but they choose to hang out in the rest of the yard instead.

Our biggest problem is hawks - we're lost 4-5 birds in the past year. Id love to have ideas on the our large space and how to get birds to stay there and keep em safe :)

Thanks for any advice
    Regina

A picture is worth a 1,000 words...

From Front
    "Run" on left measure 16x16', 4 bantams stay in at all times, all other birds free-range all day.
    [​IMG]

From back - open area measures appx 50x50'
    Tall building has secure area with 3x7' space for more roosting/boxes.
    **How do I get chickens to stay back here!?**
    **Thinking about adding ducks, would they like the coop in the taller building?**

[​IMG]

Main coop - 2 long 2x4s for roosting + 6 boxes. The co-op builder said this should house up to 20 birds.
    **Does that seem okay?**

[​IMG]

2. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    The free ranging birds will always be at risk of loss to hawks. Being out in the open makes them prime targets. They will stay in the fenced area if you close the gate. If the fence is 6 feet tall, it should be tall enough to keep them inside.

If they continue to free range, providing more shelter for them to flee to in the event of an attack will help.

The main coop shown is difficult to evaluate. Guidelines are 4 square feet per chicken in the coop. If the coop is to house 20 chickens, it would need to have 80 square feet of flooring. That would be 2-1/2 sheets of plywood, for example. Each sheet is 32 square feet.

Chris

3. radishgirl

Jan 4, 2013
    Placerville, CA