Help on identifying these birds...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MIfarmgirl, May 7, 2011.

1. MIfarmgirl

MIfarmgirl Out Of The Brooder

May 7, 2011
    Hi everyone, I am new to chickens but love the ones we have. We want them for eggs and even for dinner, perhaps, though doing the killing myself is something up to which I will have to work. Heh. I've read a bunch of threads and looked at the pictures everyone has submitted, and I have my guesses. Here's the story.

We bought six chickens from TSC born around March 9 (I know...). Three were supposed to be RIR hens (the two light browns and the black/ brown combo), and the others were supposed to be a gendered mix of Americaunas. Turns out I think one is a rooster (the black and white one because it has wattles growing and the others don't), four are hens, and one is a huge, fat, white don't know the gender chicken, maybe a Cornish, not a RIR? Any help out on what I might have? p.s. The white one the kids call "Fatty" is purple because we had to use Wound Kote a few weeks ago... the others were pecking it.)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks,

Pam

2. teeville5

teeville5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Michigan
    Your BR (black & white one) is a roo. As for the others, for the RIR I'm thinking you have 2 production reds and I don't know what the black/brown one is, but it's not an RIR. I'm also uncertain on your black one. The big white one I would say is a Cornish X.
    I'm not an expert, though, so hopefully someone else can chime in on the ones I don't know or am uncertain of.

3. StormyMoon

StormyMoon Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2010
    Alvarado, TX
    Quote:I agree BR Roo

Black looks like Black Australorp

Reds Production reds

Black and Brown I don't know maybe a sex link?

White is a Cornish X

4. farmerChef

farmerChef Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 18, 2010
    Southern Georgia
    My Coop

Reds Production reds

White is a Cornish X

x2, but I think the brown is a welsummer?