!!HELP!! One Hen and 2 baby chicks unwell.

Will the mother survive?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Yes 'with antibiotics/ treatment'

• Maybe

• Maybe 'need to treat with something'

• Total voters

Redmond Henry

Hatching
Dec 1, 2017
Bare with me, IM a complete noob when it comes to chickens.

It's broody season here at my residence and we have several hens sitting or roaming around our property. I woke up this morning and i found a her laying on the ground with most of her little ones dead. She was completely off of them so i'm assuming they died of cold. I collected the baby chicks and her before examining them. The chicks are very clumsy and they are having trouble walking and she is completely immobilised.

1) What type of bird , age and weight (does the chicken seem or feel lighter or thinner than the others.)
The person We brought them off(years ago) told us they are jungle fouls however they have an exact replica of the Welsummer breed. Age unknown, weight (feels quite light however all our chickens are underweight).

2) What is the behavior, exactly.
She has here eyes closed, she wont move and her head/neck droops to the floor. Slow breathing. the chicks are real cumpsy and they have there eyes closed as well.However they still move when I put them back down.

3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
Unknown (since 2 hours ago)

4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
No

5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
No signs, however when i put her down after examining her leg she stumbles. I dont know if this means she has a broken leg and she is suffering from shock because I don't know what to look for.

6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.