Help!! One of my broody's eggs hatched--what do I do?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by miss_thenorth, May 22, 2008.

1. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    Okay, the broody (Pebbles) is in a dog-type crate, in a cardboard box. When I came home from picking up my goats, I went inot the barn to set them up and heard peeping. I quickly put a floor in the bottom of the crate with some straw, and put out fresh water and chick starter. Now what. I am slightly unprepared, b/c I thought they still had a few days to go. Is this sufficient, and how long do I keep them like this? After all the eggs hatch, do I keep mom isolated with the chicks? I have other older chickens and a rooster allowed to roam in the barn.

What do I do????? This is my first time ever with a broody [​IMG]

2. Broke Down Ranch

Broke Down Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2007
    Texas
    It depends on how many chicks she ends up with and how good of a mom she is as to whether you should let her keep them all or not. The other birds shouldn't pose too much of a problem - mama hen will be a fierce protecter. But if she is a first-time mom she might have a hard time keeping up with more than 4-5 chicks. She probably won't get up for another 24-36 hours but she *might*...again, every hen has a different temperment.

Just try to keep an eye on her when you let them out for the first time and see how good she does with them and go from there.... and CONGRATS on the new babes [​IMG]

3. GwenFarms

GwenFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2008