HELP PLEASE 3 ABANDONED muscovy duck EGGS

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dfwnate, Apr 27, 2017.

1. dfwnate

dfwnate Just Hatched

Apr 27, 2017
    Hello, I am very new to this. There is a duck in our neighborhood who just had a bunch of ducklings hatch but she left 3 eggs behind and never returned. I took them in after ensuring mom wasn't ever coming back. They are currently in a makeshift incubator as the real deal was not on hand. Anyways on to my question, at least 1 egg is chirping, to my knowledge it started late last night and has continued periodically until just now (as I type) but there has been no movement or cracking of the eggs that I can see. Is there anything I should be doing or should I just leave them alone. Temp is currently about 98 and humidity is around 50% (I've read Muscovy eggs need less humidity particularly as they get closer to hatching.) THANKS!

2. emmaellis111

emmaellis111 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2015
    shropshire UK
    If it's chirping I would leave the egg and just see what happens. Have you candled the other eggs to make sure there not infertile and to see if there is an duck inside x

3. dfwnate

dfwnate Just Hatched

Apr 27, 2017
    I haven't candled any of them because I can't tell which is chirping. Should I candle them all?

4. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under dfwnate [​IMG] Welcome!

Besides the assistance you are getting from emmaellis111 you might want to also post on the Duck Forum just in case emmaellis111 is not back on line for a while: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/42/ducks

Alternatively, you could try the Incubating & Hatching Forum: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/5/incubating-hatching-eggs

Good luck!

I hope you enjoy being a BYC member. There are lots of friendly and very helpful folks here so not only is it overflowing with useful information it is also a great place to make friends and have some fun.

5. Pork Pie Ken