Help please chickens are getting heads taken off

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by CATNMAINE, Oct 14, 2012.

1. CATNMAINE

CATNMAINE New Egg

Oct 14, 2012
    So I am totally new to raising chickens....We have 21 well 22 now chickens and 2 roosters . Something took the head off of one of my sweet silkies last night. We have been trying to get rid of the roosters because they are so aggressive to the hens and to me with no luck . We don't know if the roosters could have taken the head off the silkie or something else. Our coop is very secure(at least we thought so) and we lock it up tight at night.

Any help would be awesome. And any help on how to get rid of the lovely roosters would be great as well . They truly are pretty.......

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    [​IMG] though I'm sorry it is under difficult circumstances for you.

Removing the head sounds most like a raccoon, though there are other predator potentials. What type of wire do you have for the sides of your coop/run? If it is anything larger than 1/2" hardware cloth, what will sometimes happen is that a raccoon, who can reach a paw through, will entice a chicken over, and then grab it by the head and pull it through that way.

Do you have some pictures of your set up that you can post, that will make it easier to give you answers?

3. Hangtown Farms

Hangtown Farms Overrun With Chickens

May 19, 2012
    PLACERVILLE CALIFORNIA
    I agree sounds like a racoon. maybe a fence ( no climb) or something like that around the coop with poultry wire around the bottom as well up 18
    ' to 2 feet

4. Cooper Farms

Cooper Farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2012
    new sharon ia