Help please

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Adam 66, Nov 27, 2016.

1. Adam 66

Adam 66 New Egg

Nov 27, 2016
    Pittsburgh PA
    I'm a novice at razing poultry. We live in western PA, and in the spring they sell chicks at the local agricultural supply places. I'm sure you know how this story starts. We puchased 3 mucovie chicks, the guy at the store said he couldn't tell the gender, they actually didn't even know they were muscovies, turned out to be 2 hens, and a very large drake. We built a really nice cage for them, and they get let out during the day to walk around a large area of our yard, they have a small pool to bathe in. Unfortunately about 3 months into our having them, one of the hens began to show symptoms of a neurological problem, we took her to a local vet that is familiar with birds, sadly he recommended we put her down.
    So now we're left with one hen, and a very large drake. We have them penned together, it's getting down into the 30s here in PA at night. They are in a 16 Sq foot house with a 32 Sq foot pen attached, all wrapped in plastic, and shielded from the wind. They have small heated mats to sleep on, and heated water. My worry is the hen looks raggedy, she's losing feathers, and is constantly dirty. Although she shows no signs that the drake is stressing her ( they're inseparable when out grazing ) should I seperate them? She's got about half of her tail feathers, and her wings are almost bare at the "knuckle" (?)
    My fear is that we're just getting into winter, and I don't want her to freeze, or be in a bad situation. But I also don't want to seperate them if that's not the right move. Advice would be truly appreciated. I didn't want to go into winter with just the 2 of them, but the timing with the one hen falling ill, there wasn't a place locally to get any more ducks.

2. Adam 66

Adam 66 New Egg

Nov 27, 2016
    Pittsburgh PA
    [​IMG]

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010