Help Please!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mmwinget, May 18, 2010.

1. mmwinget

mmwinget Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2010
    Hi Everyone. I am new to the board. I am also new to raising chickens but I live on a farm, have many other farm animals and would like to start a small chicken flock. I am a teacher and we incubated some new babies, that have now hatched. I know nothing about chickens besides the basics and I am in desperate need of some help! I think that I have a sick one. It's about 2 days old. The rest of the flock is acting normal, running around, eating and drinking. The others were pecking at this baby so I seperated him/her. The sick chick only has one eye (other seems to be sealed shut with lid, eye ball inside). Also, I am having to feed it with a syringe, it will not eat on it's own. I have mixed water, with the chick grain to give it. I have it in a box at 95 degrees with the reb bulb. It is using the bathroom a bit. I have also tried a small amount of sugar water (I read online that this may help). She is having trouble walking as well. I am not sure if it is because she is weak or deformed. She appears to be healthy except for the shut eye. She is very sleepy/largathic. Any advice? What should I feed/do? I am so worried about this baby! Thank you for your help!

2. mmwinget

May 18, 2010
    I sure do hope someone can help! I have a bad feeling that time is running out for this sweet little one. [​IMG]

3. Knock Kneed Hen

Knock Kneed Hen California Dream'in Chickens

Feb 15, 2010
    So. Cal.
    bump

4. AndreaS

AndreaS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2010
    Hurdle Mills, NC
    I had a very similar experience with one of my chicks. Here is what i did: