Help please :)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kburen, May 19, 2008.

1. kburen

kburen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2008
    Hi everyone! I'm new here. I am a Kindergarten teacher currently getting help from the local 4-H to hatch chickens in my classroom for the students to see, (don't worry, all chickens hatched are going to a GREAT home where they will be loved and spoiled!). I have a slight problem, and need some help. 2 of us teachers have incubators and are hatching. The eggs are due to hatch next wednesday. As of now, I see NOTHING when I look in my eggs (by nothing, I mean no veins, no embrio...some I can see a darker area that appears to be the yolk). The 4-H woman came by today to check it out and agrees that "it doesn't look good". We decided what's best to do is to wait and see what happens next week. Several eggs clearly have the blood vein in them. Here's my guess about what happened: The day that we put the eggs in the incubator stayed constant temp. all day (and the day before). I think someone got into my room (a student) when the custodian was cleaning at the end of the day (we have several students who are either the child of the custodian or he babysits them) and turned the incubator up. When I came in the next morning, it was up to 110 degrees. I think they were "killed" at this point. The other teachers has been fine and we can see veins and embrios in her eggs...We've even watched them "kick" and move around! Totally cool if you ask me!!! [​IMG] Anyway....I found someone who lives near me who has a rooster with his hens and was able to purchase a dozen eggs from him today. If I get them in the incubator tomorrow they should hatch 2 days before we get done with school. The problem is, I have to take the other eggs off the automatic turner thursday before we leave for a long weekend. I plan to hand-turn the NEW eggs before the others hatch (or we find that they really are "gone") but we're home for 4 days. I know they