Help pls!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Kayleigh09, Apr 26, 2019.

1. Kayleigh09

Kayleigh09 Hatching

Apr 26, 2019
    Hi I’m Kayleigh I’m new here
    I have 6 ducks
    2 mallards
    2 khakis
    2 pekins
    My pekins are very big and this is my first time having pekins they both tend to just stumble over on their own feet and I have one atm that he’s breathing with his mouth open a lot rather he’s sitting down or standing up he has been sneezing and just not seeming the same at all and the others are completely fine. So I’m not sure if he’s sick or what’s going on I usually have the heating lamp on but they get so hot now easily since they are about 5-6, 6-7 weeks now. I been keeping a really good eye on him and my other pekin but idk what to do or what is going on...

2. sylviethecochin

sylviethecochin Free Ranging

Jun 14, 2017
    Central PA
    If they're 6-7 weeks, you should probably turn that lamp off completely. What does your water setup look like? Ducks should be able to dunk their heads at least to above their nostrils (nares) in water. It's best if they can submerge their entire heads. This helps them clean out their noses for proper breathing.

3. Timothy Menezes

Timothy Menezes Songster

Nov 27, 2017
    Monterey, California
    Definitely turn that lamp off. Is it super cold where you live?

Also what are you feeding them? All ducks grow fast, but Pekins are the fastest of them all. They tend to need more vitamins/minerals than most poultry feeds have to support their fast growth.

https://www.qcsupply.com/549992-bvs-starter-pak.html#reviews

This is the best vitamin pack I can find and is the one recommended by Metzer farms. You can also buy it from Metzers under their supplement section.

Hope your duckling is ok. :thumbsup

casportpony and DuckyDonna like this.
  4. Kayleigh09

Kayleigh09 Hatching

Apr 26, 2019