HELP--Pullet's Eye Swollen Shut & Nasal Discharge :/ (PIC)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chicnchsr, May 1, 2011.

1. chicnchsr

chicnchsr Out Of The Brooder

Mar 5, 2011
    I got a new dark brahma pullet yesterday (plus 5 others that are fine)--she is supposed to be about 3 months old. Yesterday her eye looked perfectly normal. This morning when I went outside to check on her, I noticed her eye was swollen shut and she seemed a little tired. She also has nasal discharge, but only on the side of the swollen eye. She isn't nearly as active as all the other chickens (they are all the same age and size as her). She is eating and drinking, but not quite as much as the others. I'm worried about her. This is my first time to have chickens and I've never had a sick one before. I'm not sure if one of the other chickens pecked her, or if it is an infection. Or if it is something else entirely different. Help! What should I do--I've read that sometimes it heals itself, but other times antibiotics are needed. What should I do?? I don't want her to loose vision in that eye, or worse die!

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 1, 2011
  2. flowergirl60

flowergirl60 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2011
    Austin Tx
    Looks like an infection of some kind. I'm new to chickens also and haven't had any problems so I'm not really an expert but I'm hoping someone here will be able to help.

3. OHmamma

OHmamma The Culling Queen

Feb 25, 2010
    Ohio
    SO many sinus and respiratory disease in chickens.......Infectious Coryza, Infectiuous sinusitis, Chronic Respiratory disease....that looks to me like Infectious coryza which can cause facial swelling.