HELP! Pullet's skull is exposed

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Wyatt0224, Feb 2, 2017.

1. Wyatt0224

Wyatt0224 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2016
    Westminster, Maryland
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    This is my new Delaware pullet. This was done to her by my older hens. She is separated now. Please tell me what I can do to help her and save her.

2. QuackSpeak

QuackSpeak Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2017
    I'm so sorry! I really wish I could help more, but I have no experience with injured chickens... I would make sure she's warm, comfortable, has food and water, but I probably haven't told you anything you don't already know. Maybe try to clean the wound out?

3. ShannonMC

ShannonMC Out Of The Brooder

Oct 16, 2014
    We had a hen with her breast and neck ripped open by possums this past fall. She made it just fine, and we didn't do anything special for her. She is tough! I don't know about head injuries but I think chickens are pretty resiliant anyway. The best you can do is wash and treat it like a normal wound and keep her safe and separated. Just make sure she keeps drinking water. I wouldn't worry about lack of interest in food as much as making sure she is hydrated.

4. Firekin1

Firekin1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 5, 2014
    Nova Scotia
    Keep her separate, keep the wound clean and dry to help prevent infection, and give her some electrolytes in her water as an added boost.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2017
  5. Wyatt0224

Mar 1, 2016
    Westminster, Maryland
    Should I use a wet wash cloth to wipe off the blood? And use any chemicals to make sure it prevents infection?

6. Firekin1

Firekin1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 5, 2014
    Nova Scotia