Help!! Questions on using chicken waste in your garden!?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by MommaChicken3, Mar 28, 2015.

1. MommaChicken3

MommaChicken3 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 21, 2014
    Wauconda, Illinois
    Im not new to being a chicken mommy, but I am new to gardening! I was told using chicken waste was fantastic in your vegetable garden! So I thought after cleaning my coop, which is pine shavings, I would add it to my garden beds and till it and I would have the best garden around! Well, after doing a little research I found there is much to do to it before just throwing it in the garden! I haven't planted any veggies yet, only because from what I've read, I've done it completely wrong and could possibly kill my plants! Is there any hope for my above ground garden beds, or do they now need to be emptied and start over? They are rather large beds!! I've been tilling it and watering it the last 2 weeks in hopes of getting all the nutrients into the ground, but have I completely screwed up? My beds are currently full of last years soil, a little fresh soil, chicken waste with pine shavings, and decomposed leaves that have been tilled and watered regularly. Any hope for my garden, or ways you have done it successfully? I'm all ears and appreciate any advice!!!![​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. boskelli1571

boskelli1571 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 7, 2011
    Finger Lakes, NY