HELP!! Shipping eggs never came, what do I do?!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bellah1, Feb 16, 2013.

1. bellah1

bellah1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2012
    Western Washington
    I was suppose to receive 9 Aussie spotted duck eggs by today & they didn't show up. [​IMG]By the way I know it was stupid to not have them shipped til after the holiday weekend but I really spaced out. Anyway they were laid from monday(11th) - Thursday(14th) and won't b delivered til Tuesday(19th) I assume since someone was home all day and there was no we missed u slip, that they might even still be in route. So how bad is this if they are just sitting at the post office til Tuesday? I emailed the lady who shipped them and asked her for the tracking # but haven't heard back. Should I pay her to send more or not? Is there a way to tell if they are still viable, how bad is the hatch rate gonna b because of this, ect. This is my first time getting eggs shipped so any advice would be amazing!

2. bellah1

May 14, 2012
    Western Washington
    So I talked to her & what happened is she paid for the two day shipping & got the tracking number but they only charged her for regular shipping which is like 1.75 cheaper. So my eggs r in Austin, Tx & not even scheduled to deliver until the 21st! Is there ANYONE who can give me some advice please!

3. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Unfortunately, the Post Office has reclassified Priority mail to 2-3 day delivery. There is no 2-day shipping anymore. This means that eggs shipped on Thursday are NOT guaranteed to arrive by Saturday. The more expensive - but much more certain - shipping option is next day mail.

When the eggs come treat them as any other shipped eggs, you may still get some birds to hatch.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  4. SilkieSensation

SilkieSensation Overrun With Chickens

Oct 25, 2012
    Baltic, Ohio