Help! Sick baby chick!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Essygirl, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Essygirl

Essygirl New Egg

Oct 1, 2016
    I have a baby bantam chick that had trouble hatching last night, it's been out of its shell for a few hours now but has been acting strange and I don't know what might be wrong with it!

This is the first batch of chicks we've had and I'm not very experienced on this. One of the chick's eyes were glued shut so I dabbed some diluted colloidal silver on it its seemed to help a bit.

The chick has also been laying with its feet past its wings so their all the way up under its head. He's been moving his legs up and down while laying down as if having mini muscle spasms constantly. I don't know what do to!

His feet seem to be bent inwards and under so their on their side as well.

Other than that, he's pooping and chirping fine. Does someone know what I can do??
    I don't know what's wrong with it and I'm getting worried!
    [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    This can be common in chicks who have trouble hatching,or who are helped out of the egg. It may not survive, but try to give it some SaveAChick electrolytes in water, or poultry Nutridrench, as often as possible.

3. lovechickens23

lovechickens23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2013
    Hi need help got sick chick she very skinny she eats fine and drinks and she has bad blind eye I need a chicken vet to come to my house dose any Buddy know any chicken vet in argyle new York. If u do can u please tell me the numbers need help asap I lost so many baby chicks don't want to loose this one. She been sick for weeks. When she was born she was fine then I found her sick then I nurse her back now she very sick again

4. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Overrun With Chickens

Hi, welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Sorry you are having trouble. [​IMG]