Help! Sick chicken, I don't know what to do?!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lilifluff, Jan 6, 2017.

1. lilifluff

lilifluff Just Hatched

Jun 9, 2016
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone, please could you give me some advice.

I'm fairly new to keeping chickens and she is one of my first, I have a about 17 week old Brahma x mix chicken. Her symptoms are really confusing me, she seems to have no energy and is very docile. This is a chicken I normally have to chase around the garden to get to! She is often having green and runny diarrhoea, but also has normal poops and some even yellow at times! (I know they are her poops because i've kept her away form my other chicken) She has lost most of her coordination and can not drink unaided, she tries to eat but often misses the pellets. I have been giving her water from a syringe, I've also started feeding her through this method too. It's only been these past couple of days that she hasn't been able to drink or feed herself, although she has been off for a week now.

At first I thought she might have coccidiosis, so i have been putting coxiods into her water but this hasn't helped.

I'd really like to know what is going on, also am i doing the right thing by feeding her by hand?

I'd really really any help!

Thank you in advance!!!!

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio