Help!! Sick Chicken - May not live through night

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by FeistyChikin, Aug 19, 2011.

1. FeistyChikin

FeistyChikin Out Of The Brooder

Aug 2, 2011
    Cove City, NC
    Sooo.... I am new to chickens so I will try my best to explain what is going on best that I can.

My rooster for the past couple of month has been kinda lethargic (he is about 24 weeks old). I thought it was due to the North Carolina heat. It is very hot lately. The only thing noticeable physically has been his comb which looks very dark red and almost looks like it melted or something. It is not the size it should be. It shrunk down to just a little thing and looks all old. He ate and drank and was lively in the cooler mornings and evenings and during the day just sat in the shade. He was lazier than the others, but I didn't think much of it.

But..... Today he did not come into the coop at night. I found him under the deck and when I grabbed him he didn't struggle. When I put him down he wouldn't stand. He just flopped down again like he couldn't stand. Otherwise he looks good. I don't know what the crop should feel like. His is definitely full, but I wouldn't say hard. I don't know what to do for him. The only other thing that I can think of is that he did make a motion like he wanted to throw up often (that was before today). Any suggestions would be helpful.

2. FeistyChikin

Aug 2, 2011
    Cove City, NC
    Since he didn't go into the coop tonight, I am thinking he may not make it through the night. He doesn't have any energy at all.

3. leadwolf1

leadwolf1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011