1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP Sick newly hatched quail ..complete newbie

Discussion in 'Quail' started by infinityxox, Apr 10, 2017.

1. infinityxox

infinityxox New Egg

Apr 10, 2017
    Hi everyone I have a sick quail hatched last night ... a couple of days before I tried to help it hatch by cracking it's shell it started bleeding ..so I put vaseline on it and placed back into incubator ..yesterday morning still didn't hatch so I pulled it out and cracked more of its shell .. last night it came out and didn't look to good ...so I left it .. today I placed it in brooder with other chicks they trampled all over it ..so I pulled it out and placed it back into incubator .. to shift a few things around brooder in box before doing this I gave her a couple of drops of water looks like she has hiccups or head is jerking in a rhythm ... she's still not moving but is still breathing ... looks lifeless .. eyes closed kind of panting ... I'll wait another half[​IMG] hour then try give her more water..

2. BobDBirdDog

BobDBirdDog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2014
    Tennessee
    I would say you have 3 choices,
    1. Let it be, wait and see
    2. take it to the vet and spend $25-$100 trying to keep it alive,
    3. end its misery

It does not pay to tamper with nature. When you go cracking eggs open to help the chick hatch out (if it doesn't come out on its own) you are asking for it and usually a long list of futile efforts. The chick was weak to begin with and if you hadn't intervened it would have most likely died out due to a variety of possible reasons or causes. That is just natures way of sorting things out and ensuring that only the strongest survives.